Desyn Masiello:  Balance 008 Desyn Masiello:  Balance 008
Desyn Masiello: Balance 008

The Balance series continues to evolve and deliver elements of surprise and intrigue with each release. Balance 008, featuring DJ Desyn Masiello, is another example of the fresh and innovative talent that the Balance series continually highlights.

Desyn is one of the very few DJ’s in recent years that has stood out and caught the ear of some of the worlds largest DJs (with Deep Dish, Sander K and Danny Howells nominating him as their 'future DJ Hero' in DJ Magazine's Top 100 poll). With many established and newcomer DJs leaning towards a particular style and musical range many are pigeon holed into a 'genre' of music. Desyn, however, has managed to establish his own sound that crosses boundaries and defies categorization.

Desyn incorporates house classics, deep, tech, funky and progressive in his sets. “I listen and take inspiration from almost any type of music," Desyn describes. "Many tracks I find may not be instantly playable, so I use technology such as Pro Tools and Ableton live to re-edit tracks or update them so they will then fit into my vision of how the music should sound on the dance floor.”

Desyn's love of house music began in 1989. Born and raised in London he was exposed to the acid house movement at 16 and a devoted regular at the legendary spiral tribe and traveller raves around the UK at that time. Having bought his first set of turntables in 1990 and working for 6 years as a 'computer techi' his passion and real love in life was music.

His DJ career all began with 1 mix CD that sent out to 100 random people that requested the CD from a post that Desyn put out onto various Internet message boards. After a few months the CD had been passed all around the world and ended up on the laps of various promoters and DJs.

The CD made such an impression that Desyn, although completely unknown at the time began to get international gig requests. From his first international gigs in Helsinki and Tampara, Finland 2000, to his chaotic schedule today; it all sparked off from that one mix CD.

In 2002 Desyn's career skyrocketed with Deep Dish's exclusive US booking agency, Bullitt, signing him up to their US roster. Kicking off the year with a cover mount CD for DJ Magazine (WMC issue), headlining at Glastonbury, performing notable 6-hour sets around the globe and performing in venues such as Cream (Liverpool), Gatecrasher and Renaissance (Worldwide), Desyn’s career soared.

During a hectic 2003, Desyn embarked on a global tour supporting his Yoshitoshi 3 "In House We Trust' CD. Performing 80 dates in 100 days, in some of the world's largest venues, for some of the most renowned companies, sponsors and festivals around the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Malaysia, Asia, Middle East, North and South America.

Having already released the highly acclaimed mix CD, 'In House We Trust 3' (Yoshitoshi), and DJ magazines' WMC '02 cover mount, Desyn was steering his exciting new label Alternative Route (house and progressive) into the forefront of the scene. With his first signing (2001) being the mighty KC FLIGHTT 'VOICES' and one of the most recent and successful releases being the colossal Chable & Bonnici 'Ride'.

Other releases have included tracks from friends and producers, 16B, PMT, Creamer & K and DJ Vibe. The success of these tracks On Alternative Route are a testament to Desyn's ability to unearth superb originals, both new and old.

In 2004, Desyn's productions pointed the way to an exhilarating future. His first two singles with co-idiots Omid 16b and Leon Roberts, The Idiots 'Feel The Rush' and 'Keep it Real' (Sexonwax) were featured on Danny Howells' 24/7 Compilation. His first remix (Solar Plexus) is exhibited on Deep Dish's Global Underground (025).

Desyn has completed remixes and edits for Yoshitoshi - Brother Brown's 'King's of Tomorrow', Eddie Amador's 'Psycho Ex-girlfriend' and the merging of 'Loudeast and Luzon'. The Idiots produced 'Dogman', remixed Danny Howell's, 'Spikes' (Sexonwax) as well as two remixes’ of 'Sharpside', Belgian Resistance (Renaissance).

John Digweed requested Desyn join him on his 'End Of Summer Tour' around the USA. Having joined forces with The Collective Agency (NYC) and Excession (UK), a nomination for BBC Radio 1’s “Essential Mix of the Year”, together with the Original Series (OS_1) Bedrock Desyn's profile continued to grow.

A third record label “Symphonic,” was launched this July and ran in conjunction with 4 international artists based around the world. With one of his best WMC’s to date, a Radio 1 “Live” Essential Mix and an outstanding “Balance 008” double mix series released, we should be seeing Desyn further establish his name as one of the high ranking, international DJs.

For more information please visit

Balance 008 track listing:

Disc 1

1. Will Saul - Mbria
2. New Ordinament - Dusty Little Kid Presents: Jerry Cala
3. Clashing Egos Feat Jelle Paulusma-Love Sweet Love (Sterac Electronics Dub)
4. Williams - Love Crisis
5. Chelonis Jones - One On One (DM Edit)
6. Babak Shayan - Flowers
7. Rene Amesz - Cabilla
8. Mark Clement - The Tunnel (Francois K Visions Of Saturn Mix)
9. The Visitor - Our Lips Are Sealed (Dub)
10. New Ordinament - Dusty Little Kid Presents: Dusty Kid Adventure
11. Soulsearcher - Cant Get Enough (Derek Howell Mix)
12. The Idiots - Teardrop
13. Chris Lake - Piano Tool

Disc 2

1. Orbital - Halcyon & On & On
2. Spirals - X
3. Rozzo - Blue (Reloaded)
4. Moloko - Cannot Contain This Killing Joke - Love Like Blood
5. Dave DK - Crush The Bits
6. Dealer's Choice - Bomb The Place
7. Wise - Again (An2 Mix)
8. Hong Kong Micros - Time For Change (Start Your Revolution)
9. Coburn - We Interrupt This Program (Raul Rincon Mix)
10. Ramsay - Dirty Delicious (Dub)
11. Joey Negro - Make A Move On Me (Joey Negro Old School Dub)
12. Daisuke Matsusaka - Asian Blue Rose
13. Ellen Alien - Magma (The MFA Mix)
14. Karu - Maraud Your Ears (Tim Paris We Almost Lost Detroit Mix)

User Comments:


Post your opinion:

Goldfrapp: Supernature
A sonic pop thriller

Grand National: Kicking
the National Habit, an
excellent album

Sissy: All Under
Portishead meets
Massive Attack

All contents copyright 2006, Pulse Culture. All rights reserved. Home | Style | Culture | Music | Living . Privacy Policy || Contact